Busy…

Lately I’ve disappeared.  I’m attempting to post regularly but some how that always ends up at the bottom of my to-do list and then transferred to the bottom of the next day’s to-do list.  Its not that I don’t have anything to write about or anything to show for the week…its more that I don’t have time to scan, I forgot to do the paper-pushing busy work for my JC class, or I come to the end of the week and I’d just rather sleep.  Then I look at my blog stats and I’m disappointed that my bar graph is full of little peaks…but of course no one’s reading…I haven’t posted anything!

So here’s what I’ve been up to:

–First I’ve taken up some graphic design for a Co-op (in addition to my Zazzle shop):

Breakfast Nook Sign

I’ve also begun to work on my animation again…I put off my Sybil Ludington piece for a while because I didn’t really like it.  But recently I’ve been thinking about how to better prepare myself for graduate school and something one of professors at UCD said keeps coming up.

I took several classes from Hollowel who wasn’t trying to teach us to draw or paint but how to be artists. Our homework and projects could usually be anything we wanted as long as we were making ‘our work.’  It seemed like his favorite part of class was questioning us about whether we should really be doing art or if we should really be spending our time in ‘that economics class’ or ‘that biology class’, during one of these crits he asked one of my classmates what she wanted to do with her art and she told him she wanted to make illustrated stories.  It was a beginning figure drawing class but he asked ‘why aren’t you?’

His comment made me think, why aren’t I doing animation? Because I don’t know how? I haven’t tried it, how will I know if I don’t try?? So I tried it and kept working at making my own animation about Sybil but eventually put it down because…well…at the time I thought it sucked.  But in restarting my blog I realized it wasn’t all that bad for my first attempt and it could only get better…so I got a new pad of tracing paper and started again.

Fortunately and unfortunately  its consuming my life now! All I want to do is work on my animation, I don’t want to go to work, think about homework or anything I just want to finish more frames so I can watch it move!..and see if it works 😛

So that’s where I’ve been hopefully I’ll get my life in order and be able to post more images later this week! Keep reading

Leave a Reply

