~Sketchbook Project~

For the past few weeks (or maybe a month?) I’ve been participating in the Art House Co-op’s Sketchbook Project (http://www.arthousecoop.com/projects/sketchbookproject).  Its an awesome project where you get one of those small Moleskine Sketchbooks and a theme and need to complete all 80-some odd pages before sometime in January (I’m trying not to think of the deadline because I think I’ve got a long way to go!).

Sketchbook Project
Art House Co-op Sketchbook Project

After everyone turns in their sketchbooks they’ll go on tour and I’ll get to check out other awesome sketchbooks with this cool library card they gave me! (or at least that’s what I think you do with it).

The theme that I’m working on is ‘First thing in the morning, Last thing at night.”  And WOW! is this becoming a difficult theme to illustrate!  Although I had a few ideas in my head when I first purchased the sketchbook, I didn’t have anywhere near 80 thought up! And to make things worse, I’ve thrown out many of my original ideas *(but who knows, maybe they’ll come back).

Alarm Clock
Alarm Clock, June 2010

Here are a few of the ideas that I’ve come up with so far, I’m focusing on creating images that are engaging and tell a story but I don’t think these first few ideas are there yet.   The first scene is about an Alarm Clock–the thing I hate most but see first every morning & last every single night…that is if I can remember to set it :-p.  The second set of images tell a story about a coffee shop romance….coffee (the first thing I have every morning & last thing every night) unites two people after a crappy day at work.  Dream date? Yep!

Now back to the drawing board! Only 75 more images to go!!!

Coffee Romance, pg 1
Coffee Romance pg 1, August 2010
Coffee Romance, pg 2
Coffee Romance pg 2, August 2010
2 thoughts on “~Sketchbook Project~

  1. Hi,
    I just finished my own sketchbook for the project and was searching WordPress to see if anyone else had posted their work. I was surprised to find only one post for the search SKETCHBOOK PROJECT. Surprise, it was your’s and we had selected the same theme. I hope you will complete your’s by the deadline so I can see the finished product when it comes to San Francisco. Good luck with your work. 80 pages are hard to fill.

    1. Thanks for the comment!! Congratulations on finishing the Sketchbook project, I should be uploading more images of mine soon! 🙂 but unfortunately I’m not very far into my sketchbook yet and I don’t know if I’ll make the deadline but I’m working on it!! I look forward to be able to check out your sketchbook in the exhibit 🙂

Leave a Reply

