Painting Adventures!

Phew! Is it really already 10 pm?? I’ve been working on  a painting for the past couple of weeks and I thought I’d post some in-progress photos (in case you thought I forgot about it–I DO finish some of my projects :-p).  I’m working on a Victorian House (which is actually some where in Sacramento  I think) and am now trying to make it less cliched.  When I started this painting it was actually just an experiment to see if I could still do this oil painting thing.  I’d put aside painting for over a year because of work and moving and moving and then work again and finally got settled and decided to come back to it.  Unfortunately the set up of this painting is way too over done, but I have two more canvases ready to start something more interesting.   Now I’m realizing that its an excellent stress relief (unfortunately I didn’t discover this sooner–like last year >.<) and makes me really really tired–standing in front of that easel is just like exercise!

Painting Setup
Painting Setup

Here’s my ‘studio’ set-up, at the moment.   I’m using my kitchen table because its a big work space with no carpets, and a big window so that I don’t die from oil painting fumes. (That’s fairly important :-p).  I have a gigantic-ish glass palette and right now I’m using Gamblin professional grade paints (which I must  ARE much better than student grade paints–the color really is brighter and strangely they’re much smoother to mix!)

Painting Progress
Painting Progress

Here’s a close-up of the major portion of the painting.  I think its coming a long well but still needs a bunch of work!! (and I hope that the colors start to get more cohesive as I continue).

Helper
Helper

After meowing constantly and trying to eat all my materials Hershey, finally settled down to help me with my painting and get cat hair all over my coat.  And he stayed there for almost the whole 3 hours I worked tonight (trust me, this is an accomplishment for Hershey).–Quietest painting-helping job yet! 🙂

Another View
Another View

Haha and I just thought it looked better from far away!

2 thoughts on “Painting Adventures!

Leave a Reply

