Sacramento Sketch Crawl 8.13 (and other art type things)Then

Haunted Sketch
Haunted Sketch

Over the weekend my sister and I went on our own sketch crawl through the old Victorians of Sacramento to celebrate the end of the summer semester at Academy of Art. (Which I survived by the way!–woohoo yay!) I need to get in the habit of practicing life drawing more often and really trying to capture the image.  I think that most of the time I’m not looking long enough or working on a drawing long enough to get all of the information down just right so I’m trying to work on that.  Most of the time I find that parts of the object will be missing from my drawing because I’ve run out of room and didn’t notice them before, I need to stop doing this! Suggestions anyone?? Well, I suggested to myself that I try to do more life drawing so here it is!

Haunted House
Haunted House

This is the haunted-est house in Sacramento, it lives on H Street and it is so creepy it will stop you in your tracks! Literally! That’s how I found it!  Although the owner assured Sacramentans its not haunted, it certainly looks sinister and abandoned–and it doesn’t help that there was a creepy bird that sounded like a crying baby squawking the entire time we were attempting to draw.  Here’s my sketch:

Haunted Sketch
Haunted Sketch

Then we tried our hand at a couple of other (non-Haunted) Victorians:

Victorian Houses Sketch
Victorian Houses Sketch

Apparently I am really into Victorian Houses the last couple of months–maybe its because I finally get to see them everyday!  Here’s some progress on my Victorian Houses painting, which I’m supposed to finish in 2 weeks according to my academic-life coach but its frustrating me at the moment so we’ll see if that actually happens x.x   It has some massive perspective problems I realized after I got it started and am trying to correct.  Today it lost a house in hopes that drawing a new one will help to fix my nasty perspective work–“Drawing From Imagination”–HELP ME!

4 thoughts on “Sacramento Sketch Crawl 8.13 (and other art type things)Then

Leave a Reply

